SID-01686: Deleting mulitple Attachments
| Status: |
Answered |
TWiki version: |
5.1.3 |
Perl version: |
|
| Category: |
CategoryAttachments |
Server OS: |
|
Last update: |
10 years ago |
Hi,
I hope this is possible, is there any way to delete multiple numebr of attachements? the system to only let you delete one at a time. I need to delete ~500 attatchments, so one by one is going to take forever!
--
Brian Eney - 2013-04-19
Discussion and Answer
In the past if you had OS level access you could delete the attachments for that topic from the shell. I haven't tried it in a long while so I don't know if that technique causes problems in the meta-data.
Another option:
- Rename the topic with all the offending attachments (do not update the links to it from other topics)
- Create a new topic with the original topic's name
- Populate the new topic with the content of the original (raw view and raw edit are your friends here)
- Delete the original topic with all the offending attachments
--
Joshua Tharp - 2013-04-20
You can delete attachments using the shell. All attachments are in
twiki/pub/Webname/TopicName/*. If you do so, the attachment meta data still remains in the topics, e.g. if a user clicks on a file in an attachment table she gets a 404 file not found.
To get around this you as an admin could do a edit with
cmd=repRev parameter to manipulate the attachment table. Be careful not to mess up the meta data. Also, I recommend to bump up the revision with an edit/save before using the
cmd=repRev so that version control records you as the person manipulating the attachment table.
--
Peter Thoeny - 2013-05-01
Hi How do I delete a file off the internet? I am trying to delete one and keep getting the following error:
Access check on Main.Username failed. Action "RENAME": access not allowed on web.
Thank you.
--
Claire Oberhofer - 2015-08-25
Claire: I presume you wanted to delete the resume from your profile page on TWiki.org. TWiki.org is a shared wiki, so to protect content, only members of the
TWikiCommunityGroup can rename and delete content. I deleted the resume.
--
Peter Thoeny - 2015-08-25
If you answer a question - or someone answered one of your questions - please remember to edit the page and set the status to answered. The status selector is below the edit box.