Tags:
create new tag
, view all tags

Feature Proposal: Prevent Users from Locking Themselves Out of Their Pages

Motivation

In a corporate setting, people like to restrict page access. Sadly, they misspell, they get confused about user name format, they misunderstand how restrictions are done.

Where I work, the most common support request is "Help! I locked myself out of this age (somehow)"

We should give them an "are you sure" before they lock themselves out of a page.

Description and Documentation

Before finishing the save, check the new privileges. If the user will not be able to view and/or change after the save, transfer to an Oops page with a warbing "You are about to rse=trict access to this page. After asvng you will not be able to (view/edit) this age again. Are you SURE you want to save this page with these restrictions?"

Or words to that effect.

Examples

Impact

Implementation

-- Contributors: VickiBrown - 2009-04-20

Discussion

Agreed, usability and support issue for TWiki deployments, especially large ones. Please come up with a spec and code, possibly asking a Perl programmer in your organization. TWiki is open source, it is about taking other people's work and giving back!

-- PeterThoeny - 2009-04-20

Edit | Attach | Watch | Print version | History: r2 < r1 | Backlinks | Raw View | Raw edit | More topic actions
Topic revision: r2 - 2009-04-20 - PeterThoeny
 
  • Learn about TWiki  
  • Download TWiki
This site is powered by the TWiki collaboration platform Powered by Perl Hosted by OICcam.com Ideas, requests, problems regarding TWiki? Send feedback. Ask community in the support forum.
Copyright © 1999-2017 by the contributing authors. All material on this collaboration platform is the property of the contributing authors.